Contact Information

Richard Walser,
District I,
Tom Lamar ,
District II, Chair,
Dave McGraw,
District III,
Deputy Clerk of the Board/Administrative Assistant:
Kara Egan,
(208) 883-7208
(208) 883-2280
Latah County Courthouse - Room 3B

Board of County Commissioners (BOCC)

Board Description

This elected three-member board is the governing body of Latah County. The Board has the ability, by ordinance, to meet Monday through Friday, 9:00 to 5:00 p.m. Usually however, the Board meets Mondays and Wednesdays, between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Click here to view the current agenda. The Board Members also attends off-site and evening meetings throughout the week as scheduled.

All meetings of the Board are open to the public with the exception of Executive Sessions. Books, records and accounts of the meetings are open for public inspection in the Clerk's office.

The Board of Commissioners is a unique body in government. It is the only office that has legislative, executive and judicial responsibilities and duties. The Commissioners have the power to pass ordinances, adopt budgets, fix tax levy rate and oversee the county budget. They are charged with the duty of supervising the official conduct of all county officers as their conduct relates to public monies and revenues, as well as supervising appointed boards and committees. They also act as the Board of Equalization.

The Board sits as a quasi-judicial body to hear various matters including planning and zoning requests, property valuation protests and requests for cancellation of taxes, and indigent issues among many others.

Latah County Board of County Commissioners

Latah County Board of County Commissioners from left to right: Tom Lamar (Chair, District II), Richard Walser (District I), and Dave McGraw (District II)